Open Championship Betting Odds

British Open Betting Promo Code

Open Championship Odds

2019 British Open - The Open Championship

July 17 - 21, 2019
Royal Portrush Golf Club
Portrush, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

The British Open will be held at the Royal Portrush Golf Club, Portrush, County Antrim, Northern Ireland. The Muirfield old course is a challenging links course, that boasts the beauty of United Kingdom's coastline and, of course, the luxury of one of the world's great resorts.

More British Open Golf Results Information Here

The Open Championship goes to Royal Portrush Golf Club in July 2019 which will be the 147th Open Championship. Once again the worlds' greatest golfers will gather to do battle for the famous Claret Jug on the West Coast of England over one of the country's finest links courses. Past winners of The Open at Royal Birkdale include Padraig Harrington most recently in 2008 and Arnold Palmer in 1961.

The Open Championship (sometimes referred to as the British Open), is the oldest of the four major championships in men's golf. Each year the event is hosted by one of several prestigious golf clubs in Britain; however, the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews (R&A) administers The Open regardless of its site. It is always played on a links course.

The Open Championship is played in July, and is the third major to take place each year, after The Masters Tournament and the U.S. Open, but before the PGA Championship. It has been an official event on the PGA TOUR since 1995, which means thatthe prize money won in the Open by PGA Tour members is included on the official money list. In addition, all Open Championships before that date have been retrospectively classified as PGA Tour wins and the list of leading winners on the PGA Tour has been adjusted to reflect this. The PGA European Tour has always recognized The Open as an official event.

British Open History and Facts

The very first British Open Golf Championship took place in the year 1860 when a meager field of eight competitors played three rounds over the 12 holes that were in those days the entirety of Scotland's Prestwick Golf Club.

Willie Park was the winner as the eight golfers went around the 12 holes three times in one day. The gutta percha ball had just been invented three years earlier, and Park shot a 174, which would equate to 87 strokes if there were 18 holes instead of just 12. The gutta percha could only go a maximum of about 190 yards, compared to today’s launches which approach 375 yards. Because of building space and the course's length, became too short to be played and has not been played there since 1925.

Of the 14 different venues that have been honored as an Open host over the years, five are no longer on the rota for reasons of either lacking the length demanded by today's big hitters, or not having the necessary infrastructure to accommodate the crowds attracted to view an Open.

Of the nine remaining courses, five are Scottish links: St. Andrews, Muirfield, Royal Troon, Carnoustie and Turnberry. The other four are all in England: Royal Lytham & St. Annes, Royal Birkdale, Royal Liverpool and Royal St. George's.

It is known in just about every place but America as, quite simply, “The Open.” The one in the United States has a little to do with that, of course. But the British Open was being played 35 years before the U.S. Open.

It has, furthermore, been called “The World Open.” Players from around the globe participate, as they have for a century or more. The British Open is all-inclusive. The U.S. Open has been moving in that direction for the last decade. But the British Open has been accepting a cast from around the world since the turn of the century.

In 1977 Turnberry's Ailsa Course had been Added to the tour, Turnberry has hosted the Open three times so far with undoubtedly many more to come.

Though many things have changed over the intervening 143 years, much has stayed the same, and the Open, the world's most historic golf tournament, will always be played over an elite list of Britain's very best links.

Odds to Win 2018 British Open

British Open Results

2018 Open Championship Winner

Francesco Molinari wins The Open 2018 after holding off Tiger Woods, Justin Rose & Rory McIlroy. Molinari produced a two-under final round of 69 in windy conditions on the Scottish links to finish eight under.

2017 Open Championship Winner

Jordan Spieth won British Open 2017 on Sunday, July 23, at Royal Birkdale Golf Club in Southport, England. Spieth went 5-under in the final five holes.

2016 Open Championship Winner

The 2016 Open Championship was the 145th Open Championship, played 14–17 July at Royal Portrush Golf Club in Portrush, County Antrim, Northern Ireland. It was the ninth Open Championship played at the Old Course of Troon, and the fifth since gaining royal status. The Open was won by Henrik Stenson who achieved a record 20 under par.

2015 Open Championship Winner

Jordan Spieth's Grand Slam attempt died with a putt that missed by inches on the 18th green and a three-man, four-hole playoff ended with American Zach Johnson holding the Claret Jug.

2014 Open Championship Winner

It wasn't quite the stroll in the park Rory McIlroy would have liked but in the end the Ulsterman was able to cruise to the 2014 Claret Jug with a final-round 71 to win by two, the 2014 British Open.

2013 Open Championship Winner

Phil Mickelson came from five shots behind Lee Westwood to win the 2013 Open Championship. A sublime 66 that will go down in the annals alongside the great Open rounds was enough to give him a three-stroke triumph at Muirfield over the Swede Henrik Stenson with Lee Westwood, Adam Scott and a charging Ian Poulter finishing in a tie for third spot.

2012 Open Championship Winner

Ernie Els wins 2012 Open Championship at the Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club in Lytham St Annes, Lancashire, England. Els amazingly shoot three rounds in the 60s. With winds up practically everyone else was shooting over par. He was solid from tee to green and made the clutch putt when he needed to the most.

Darren Clarke 2011 Open Championship Winner

2011 Open Championship Winner

Darren Clarke walked away from the 18th at Royal St George's with a claret jug in his hand at the 2011 Open Championship. Clarke was one of only four players to record a sub-par total and was not over par 70 in any round.

South African Louis Oosthuizen made his final putt to win the 2010 Open Championship at St. Andrews, Scotland. Oosthuizen played every round under par and finished at -16 (272) on the Old Course.

More British Open Results

The British Open betting odds have been posted by Bookmaker Sportsbook! Padraig Harrington is the reigning champion and is currently posting 15/1 odds (a $100 bet wins $1500). The Claret Jug or the proper name, The Golf Champion Trophy, will be presented to the winner of The Open Championship.

  • Bookmaker
  • Bet DSI
  • Gamblers Palace
  • Visit Costa Rica

US CITIZENS: The information contained herein is for entertainment and news matter only. Any use of this information in violation of federal, state and local law is strictly prohibited. Offers by offshore sportsbooks advertising on this site are void in states where prohibited by law. Please check with your local or state enforcement agency.

Sportsbook Lines

Golf Gambling